Every Day by David Levithan

Every DayI usually love David Levithan’s books.  And I definitely started off loving this book, too.  It was great to see an author who would help teens empathize with the people around them by creating a character who lived inside a different body every day and got to experience life from so many different angles.  That is, until I got to the day where “A.” woke up as a fat person.  I was horrified that Levithan showed so much more compassion for a heroin addict than for someone who weighed “at least 300 pounds.”  I mean, I just don’t understand Levithan could insinuate that readers should be more accepting of all the complications that arose from A. living in bodies of people from different ethnicities, socioeconomic classes, and sexual orientations and then be so downright cruel in his descriptions when A. woke up in a fat body.  If a person is addicted to food, which this kid Finn very well could have been, just imagine how much harder it could be for him to exist anywhere in society.  A heroin addict can always go to rehab and then move away from the area where s/he is likely to run in to his/her old drug dealer and druggie friends…  But a fat person can never get away from food — it’s necessary to eat if you want to live!  Don’t understand how I can be so livid?  Take this paragraph for instance:

When I finally take a look around and take a look inside, I’m not very excited about what I see.  Finn Taylor has retreated from most of the world; his size comes from negligence and laziness, a carelessness that would be pathological if it had any meticulousness to it.  While I am sure if I access deep enough I will find some well of humanity, all I can see on the surface is the emotional equivalent of a burp.

Sure, Finn could be lazy.  But it’s also likely that there is *something* that caused him to “[retreat] from most of the world” and let himself go.  I’m sure some people probably love this story and aren’t very upset by this chapter, but I am completely pissed at David Levithan right now.

Happy Reading!

 

P.S. I decided to do a quick search to see if anyone else out there had similar feelings about this book, and I was happy to find this review — http://www.teenlibrariantoolbox.com/2012/08/body-image-and-every-day-by-david.html — in which Christie Gibrich reacted with just as much indignation as me.  So, yay that someone agrees with me, but boo that this is even an issue!  /sigh

2 responses to “Every Day by David Levithan

  1. the books looks cool i like you site miss librarina!

    all my friends tell me to read boks called:Funny, You Don’t Look Like A Grandmother and I Funny: A Middle School Story i hate that kind of books so i read books like……

    neva mind you seen my blog so i don’t have to tell you that books i read!

    so every day i see something new on your site and i like it!
    cuz i added you on my site so every time i see you put something new on the site i look at it.

    it makes me happy so keep up the good work……

    i don’t know if your a kid or not but have you seen sailer moon?

    I won’t to see what you think about it!

  2. Glad my book review blog makes you happy! ^_^ I am not a fan of manga and anime, but my sister used to watch Sailor Moon when we were growing up. (I’m an adult now.)

Leave a Reply

