Divergent [trilogy] by Veronica Roth

divergentPeople have been telling me to read this series since the first book came out.  And, although I trust the opinions of the people who kept recommending it, I kept thinking about how often I get frustrated waiting for the next books to come out in all the series I read.  I get so caught up in the characters that waiting for the next book in a series is like waiting to reunite with a friend who just moved away and won’t be home to visit for at least another year.  I don’t get desperate, per se, but it’s not fun to have to keep on waiting all the time!  So, I purposely waited to even get started.  For real.  I just refused to start this series until I knew the third book was almost out.  And, boy, am I glad I decided to wait!

Beatrice Prior was born into a society divided into five factions — Abnegation (the selfless), Amity (the peaceful), Candor (the honest), Dauntless (the brave), and Erudite (the intelligent).  Although she was born into Abnegation, her society came up with a selection process by which teens could choose to stay in their given faction or to move to a different faction.  In preparation for making her choice, Beatrice went through a simulation that was supposed to narrow down which faction would be the best fit.  Something went wrong, though, and Beatrice’s test proctor informed her that her test results were anything but definitive; Beatrice was Divergent.  She didn’t know what it meant, but the proctor made it quite clear that being Divergent was dangerous and that Beatrice should not tell anyone about her results.  I don’t know that I can summarize the rest of the series without getting into spoilers, so I will just wrap things up by saying that fans of other dystopias like The Hunger Games and Delirium will not be disappointed.

Happy Reading!

2 responses to “Divergent [trilogy] by Veronica Roth

  1. It sounds similar to the hunger games. I recently just got into the series. I bought catching fire a few weeks ago so I’m still a newborn to the series. I really liked this post though. I’ll have to look this book up and add it to my list of reads. Do you write?

  2. This book definitely falls squarely in the dystopia genre, like The Hunger Games. And while I might write a book someday, I’m definitely “just” a reader for now! Glad you liked the post. I try to review at least one book a week, so stick around and there will certainly be more to come. :-)

Leave a Reply

