Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling

WARNING:

SPOILERS

WILL

BE

INCLUDED

IN

THIS

POST!


DO
NOT
READ
ANY
FURTHER
IF
YOU
DO
NOT
WISH
TO
KNOW
ABOUT
THE
PLOT
!!!!!!!!


Last night, I went to see the latest movie in the Harry Potter series. I was very impressed, overall, with the special effects and acting. I was slightly disturbed, however, to see that they changed some of the plot in order to remove the house elves from the story. Somehow, they must have come to the conclusion that it would be easier to change some facts in order to shorten the film. While I understand that they did not want a five hour movie, I don’t like how Harry learned about gilliweed from Neville Longbottom. I also don’t like how removing the house elves meant that Hermione didn’t do anything with S.P.E.W. (Society for the Promotion of Elfish Welfare). Rita Skeeter, too, did not play nearly as large a role in the movie as in the book. The movie did not even reveal that she was an animagus, for goodness’ sake! I know that all of this probably makes me sound like I didn’t enjoy the movie, but I swear I did. I just have trouble sometimes, being a librarian, with movies that differ so greatly from the books on which they are based.

What did you think about the new movie?

Happy Reading!

One response to “Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling

  1. Pingback: The Last Dragonslayer by Jasper Fford | Librarina

Leave a Reply

