Captain Underpants and the Preposterous Plight of the Purple Potty People by Dav Pilkey

I can’t believe I have never read a Captain Underpants book until now! This book was both hilarious and heartwarming… Before you think I am crazy, please allow me to explain myself. By heartwarming, I do not mean that I was moved to tears or sat around saying, “Awwww!” as I read. I just mean that the sections with Boxer Boy and Great-Granny Girdle reminded me of my own spunky grandparents — and their love for hard candy! LOL. The story behind Captain Underpants’ creation was wacky and fun. Using a port-a-potty as a time machine is hilarious. And needing to go to an alternate-reality to get a school cafeteria where the food doesn’t smell like dirty diapers?!? Well, that just sounds too real! Seriously, though. The only thing that bothered me about this book was the intentional misspelling that happened in the comics drawn by George and Harold. Sure, I know that is just one way of showing that the boys had done the comics. But, it still made me cringe to think that some kids might see the misspellings and not realize that they are, in fact, not spelled correctly. I guess Librarina needs to lighten up a little, huh?

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

