American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang

I had never heard of Gene Luen Yang, nor had I ever seen any of his graphic novels. When every librarian on ADBOOKS started praising this graphic novel, though, I knew it was something I needed to read! I will be the first person to admit that I need to s-l-o-w d-o-w-n and make myself actually take time to look at the pictures of a graphic novel, but this one seemed, somehow, different. I found myself drawn into the story, wanting to find details in the pictures, and not just flying through the dialogue. I guess that could be one indication of greatness! Another is that this book just won the Michael J. Printz Award! If you haven’t ever taken the time to read a graphic novel, this would be a good place to start.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

