Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

twilight coverI am almost ashamed to admit that I knew nothing about Stephenie Meyer’s vampire books until the third book (Eclipse) was slated for release. I figured they must not be that good if I had never heard of them before, but then I started to hear about them everywhere. I decided I better see what all the fuss was about, and now I am hooked! Just in case there are any Buffy fans out there who have not yet read this book, let me tell you — Buffy fans will love this book!

I guess you could say that Bella is the new Buffy and Edward is the new Angel. I mean, Bella is not exactly a vampire slayer or anything, but she is a “normal” (i.e. not vampire) teen girl who is obsessed with a hot vampire guy… One who is a “good vampire” (hence the Angel reference). I will not go into too much detail, so as to not spoil the ending, but I will give you the quick character summaries I gave my husband — told in the style of an internal dialog:

  • Bella: This town sucks, but I am going to find some friends here. Who are those kids? The Cullens? The one named Edward is so cute — and he’s in my biology class! Why does he seem angry with me? Why is he not in class? OK, he’s back… And now he’s being nice? His family sure seems strange. And he has some rather unusual talents. I wonder if he’s a vampire? I wish he could be my boyfriend. Well… I know he’s a vampire, but I’m not scared of him. He’s such a nice vampire! I wish we could be together forever.
  • Edward: I wish Bella didn’t smell so good. I’m gonna have to hunt some more animals if I’m going to stay safe near her. It really is tough being a “vegetarian vampire” when I am near Bella. She is a rather accident-prone girl, so I guess I’d better make sure she doesn’t get hurt… I would hate to smell her blood and react by attacking her in front of everyone. Well, I guess she is just as obsessed with me as I am with her. That could be a bit problematic… But I love the fact that I can share my secret with someone. Although, it is a bit strange that she is not scared of me. Let’s give this dating thing a shot!

Yeah… I can’t wait until the second book gets to the library. I think I may start to twitch if I don’t get it soon!

Happy Reading!

9 responses to “Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

  1. Hi, the Twilight series is one of the best sets of books I have ever laid hands on; I’m not ashamed to announce I’ve read Twilight about 12 times, New Moon about 5 and Eclipse about 14! I will forever cherish these books in my heart, I don’t understand why they are so enticing one of these days, perhaps, I’ll find out.

    Oh, and to who wrote the above comments above, most of the teens writing this book are thinking of becoming writers themselves…as I am. So could we perhaps see more vocabulary and more description on your part. I see a slack in the over all status of the book, it can’t be summed up in two paragraphs; oh and trust, Edward does not use such newly founded language.

    Female, age sixteen and a Twilight fanatic to the day I die.
    ~Cassie M. Madison~

  2. Hi, the Twilight series is one of the best sets of books I have ever laid hands on; I’m not ashamed to announce I’ve read Twilight about 12 times, New Moon about 5 and Eclipse about 14! I will forever cherish these books in my heart, I don’t understand why they are so enticing one of these days, perhaps, I’ll find out.

    Oh, and to who wrote the *comments above, most of the teens *reading this book are thinking of becoming writers themselves…as I am. So could we perhaps see more vocabulary and more description on your part. I see a slack in the over all status of the book, it can’t be summed up in two paragraphs; oh and trust, Edward does not use such newly founded language.

    Female, age sixteen and a Twilight fanatic to the day I die.
    ~Cassie M. Madison~

  3. My students were absolutely set on making me read the “BEST TEENAGE VAMPIRE ROMANCE EVER”. I was a bit skeptical for obvious reasons, but after I read Twighlight until 4 a.m. because I could not put it down without finishing it I WAS HOOKED. I had to buy the other two the next day and I read then entire series in 3 days (one a day). They are absolutely wonderful and thank you for bringin the joy that Bella brought to my life to life in a book so vivid and addictive even a sensible teacher could not peel her eyes away. I am awaiting the 4th book anxiously!

  4. Twilight And New Moon Are Amazingggg=]

  5. Pingback: Four: A Divergent Collection by Veronica Roth | Librarina

  6. Pingback: Four: A Divergent Collection by Veronica Roth | Staff Picks

  7. Pingback: Tracers by J.J. Howard | Librarina

  8. Pingback: Tracers by JJ Howard | Staff Picks

Leave a Reply

