Walking on Glass by Alma Fullerton

I have heard a lot of good things about this book, and it has caught my eye several times as I walked by my “new books” display. Today, I decided I could not just walk by it anymore, and I picked it up. Because it is a novel in verse (told through poems), I managed to finish it in less than an hour. I probably should not have read it at the Teen Area Reference Desk, though, since I was nearly crying by the end of it.

I don’t want to give away too much, but here area few questions to see if you could handle the narrator’s life: What would you do it your mom’s unsuccessful suicide attempt left her in a coma from which she could never wake? Would you consider it “murder” to take her off of life support and let her die? Would you ever be able to move on with your life? Tough questions with no simple answer in sight. Read the book if you want to know exactly what happened and/or how he dealt with this devastating situation.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

