A Certain Slant of Light by Laura Whitcomb

One day, I was feeling especially lazy and didn’t have the energy to actually choose an audiobook before I left for the day. I asked my teens which audiobook I should check out, and they said that this book looked like a “good one.” So, I brought it home and started listening without so much as glancing at the description on the back. I am not sure what I expected, or if I expected anything, but this book certainly was a bit different than my usual, light reading. It’s all about a lost spirit who wanders around, attached in some way to her various human hosts. She keeps praying that she can go to heaven someday, but she can’t remember enough about her life to understand why she could possibly be denied for so long. One day, a student (at the school where her current host teaches) notices her. She is shocked and a little frightened — because no one has ever seen her before. Why can he see her? And why doesn’t he seem afraid? The two begin to talk, and she finds out that they have something unusual in common. What is it that binds these two together? Will this friendship give her any comfort, or can she find some other way to escape the life she knows? A very thought-provoking story with a bit of mystery woven in… I highly recommend this story to anyone with an interest in philosophy!

Happy Reading!

2 responses to “A Certain Slant of Light by Laura Whitcomb

  1. Highly recommended for those who love a supernatural story or just a good mystery! A largely undiscovered book, unfortunately.

  2. oh my gosh! i LOVE this book so much:)!!!!!!!!!!!!! it made me cry in some of the parts and the story is so captivating, beautiful and oh i don’t know what to say. Donde is right about the fact that this book has not been discovered yet. not one book i have read is so mesmorisingly beautiful:) i LUV it

Leave a Reply

