Once Upon a Time in the North by Phillip Pullman

Strong language is never much of an issue when I read.  (Truth be told, I often swear like a sailor when I get angry and don’t have to worry about “little ears” around.)  I mean, I loved Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist, for goodness’ sake!  So, why would I mention strong language in a Phillip Pullman book?  Well, it just seemed a little weird to me.  I don’t remember swearing in The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, or The Amber Spyglass.  That doesn’t mean there wasn’t any, I know, but I just don’t really remember there being any swearing…  So, when I heard Lee Scoresby swearing, it kinda took me by surprise and distracted me from the story a little bit.  Since Lee is supposed to be a rough/cowboy type of character, the foul language was not really out of character.  It’s just…   I don’t know.  Weird!  Other than that, though, I absolutely loved this story.  Funny how I rambled on so long just to tell you that I loved it, but that must be the kind of mood I’m in today.  Fans of The Golden Compass will likely love this prequel for two reasons — 1. getting to know Lee Scoresby (and his daemon Hester) a little bit better, and 2. finding out how Lee met (and became friends with) the armored bear named Iorek Byrnison.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

