Almost Perfect by Brian Katcher

While on the rebound from the breakup of a long-term relationship with a girl named Brenda, Logan falls pretty hard for the exotic and peppy new girl, Sage, the very moment she walks into the biology lab.  Brenda had been relatively plain and ordinary, but Sage wears outrageous outfits and has a spunky attitude.  Plus, she’s cute!  The weird thing is that, even though she seems to have feelings for Logan, Sage works pretty hard to keep things platonic.  It could be because her parents have forbidden her to date while she is in high school, like she claims.  But then, why is it that her little sister has a boyfriend?  What could have happened in the past that led to such a ridiculous double-standard?  While Sage is always great at listening whenever Logan needs to talk, she refuses to open up about her past.  Logan thinks up several scenarios that could explain Sage’s strange behavior, but he never would have imagined the truth — that Sage is a transsexual.  Sage was born a boy, but she has always thought of herself as a girl and is “transitioning” to become a biological female. I could go on and on about what happens after Logan learns Sage’s secret, but I really don’t want to give away anything more than I need to.  It’s an amazing story, albeit sad and frustrating at times, and I don’t want to spoil the experience for anyone.

There are not very many book in YA literature about transgendered teens, so I was happy to see that Katcher’s story is both thought-provoking and informative without sounding preachy.  This is a powerful story about love, friendship, and being true to one’s self.

Happy Reading!

3 responses to “Almost Perfect by Brian Katcher

  1. Janet Trumble

    Arrrgghhh… Now I have to add another book to my already ridiculously high summer reading stack! This looks like a great one. Thanks for the heads up, Chrissie. Luna, another transgender-themed novel by Julie Anne Peters, is in my stack, too. I’ll read them back-to-back. TERRIFIC BLOG!

  2. I loved this one. It was a little too unbelievable for me though. I can’t imagine any teen guy who seems as put together? accepting? as Logan does. I know that he fights it and lashes out, but I don’t know. Its hard to explain. This is not to say that I didn’t like the book. I LOVED it. It made me cry quite a few times and I’m sure I went over my work break times b/c I couldn’t put it down. This will be a hard sell for teens and even more so for parents, but its a great book and I’m glad I have it in my library collection.

  3. Pingback: George by Alex Gino | Librarina

Leave a Reply

