I Can’t Keep My Own Secrets: Six-Word Memoirs by Teens Famous & Obscure edited by SMITH Magazine

Unlike most memoirs, this book has over 600 authors, and it doesn’t have to be read in any particular order.  It all started with the publication of Not Quite What I Was Planning: Six-Word Memoirs by Writers Famous & Obscure.  People around the world found the idea intriguing and started to try their hand at writing their own six-word memoirs.  The people at SMITH Magazine asked teens for submissions on their website [http://www.smithteens.com], and the memoirs poured in.  You can actually still submit an entry if you would like!

I like the fact that the ability to post anonymously compelled so many teens to take part and to be so brutally honest.  More than that, I found it amazing how these six-word memoirs could actually say so much about a person’s life or state of mind.  One girl confessed, Laughed at abuser’s funeral.  Felt Guilty. Another wrote, Slowly becoming everything that I hate. Not all the memoirs are sad or depressing, though.  One teen’s words are full of hope: Known as depressed.  Happier every day. And another eeks of self confidence: I like myself more without makeup.

This book is good for so many different reasons.  You can pick it up when you need a pick-me-up, wallow in your own pain as you empathize with others, or just read a few entries when you can’t quite concentrate but need something to do.  I wonder if teens at my own library would be interested in contributing to something like this…

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

