Dark Song by Gail Giles

Let me just be very upfront and admit that I ❤ Gail Giles!  Pretty much any time a teen tells me that they like suspenseful stories, I start gushing about how they just HAVE to read Right Behind You [review] and What Happened to Cass McBride.  Not only did these stories have me on the edge of my seat and reading as quickly as humanly possible, but the stories have also stayed with me long afterward.  Something tells me Dark Song won’t be out of my head anytime soon, so I guess I will just have to add it to my “must read” list when I’m suggesting YA thrillers!

In the beginning of this story, Ames Ford lives in a mansion in Boulder, Colorado.  After her father loses his high-paying job (and makes a whole lot of other bad decisions), her family ends up relocating to the slums of a small Texas town.  Their “perfect family” quickly becomes anything but.  Seething anger, bitterness, and resentment fuel the vitriolic arguments between her parents, and they both begin to treat Ames like more of a servant than a daughter.  After losing her home, most of her possessions, and her friends, it makes sense that Ames would feel angry and lost.  Her 5-year-old sister, Chrissy, is the only person she feels connected to anymore.  That is, until Marc — bad boy extraordinaire — swoops in and provides her with an illusion of love and protection.  Despite the warning signs that Marc is bad for her, and over the objections of her parents, she continues to see him.

The very first page of the book makes it clear that Ames and Marc have some sort of dark plan in mind, but you will need to read to end to find out what actually happens and why…  Just make sure you have plenty of time to read when you pick up this book, because you’ll want to read it in one sitting!

Happy Reading!

2 responses to “Dark Song by Gail Giles

  1. Pingback: Kill Me Softly by Sarah Cross | Librarina

  2. Pingback: Kill Me Softly by Sarah Cross | Staff Picks

Leave a Reply

