Printz Award Annoucement

The American Library Association (ALA) announced the winner of the 2011 Michael L. Printz Award today.  Named for a long time Kansas YA Librarian, the Printz Award honors the best books for young adult readers. The committee defines young adult as ages 12-18 and looks for books that meet literary excellence and were published between January 1 and December 31 of the preceding year. All forms of writing including fiction and nonfiction are accepted.

This year’s winner is Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi.  Since I have not read this book, I will have to get myself on the wait list so I can read it and find out why it won!  The committee also chose four “honor” books:

  1. Stolen by Lucy Christopher
  2. Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King
  3. Revolver by Marcus Sedgwick
  4. Nothing by Janne Teller [click the title to see my review]
Congratulations to all the winners and Happy Reading to all of you!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s