Strings Attached by Judy Blundell

strings-attachedAfter listening to What I Saw and How I Lied, I was excited to check out Blundell’s second book.  So many books were piled up on my “to be read” list, though, that this book got bumped… and then I forgot about it.  (Ack!)  Sometimes, thankfully, fate will intervene and remind me about a book I’d forgotten to read.  In this case, my audiobook ended while I was out and about.  Since I didn’t have another CD audiobook on standby, I browsed the OverDrive app on my phone to see if any of my “wish list” downloadable audiobooks were checked in.  Boy, am I glad this one showed up!

I’ve always been intrigued by mob stories, and my husband and I have spent countless hours watching (and re-watching) movies and TV shows like The Godfather trilogy, Goodfellas, Reservoir Dogs, and The Sopranos.  I have to admit, though, that it’s sometimes a bit too much for me.  Every time I hear “Stuck in the Middle With You,” for instance, I have flashbacks to a particularly traumatizing scene in Reservoir Dogs.  I much prefer stories like Son of the Mob and Strings Attached because mob action takes more of a back seat to another storyline and is mostly insinuated or very briefly visited.

In this story, it’s quite clear that Kit Corrigan is mixed up with someone who, at the very least, has ties to the mob.  Yes, Nate says that he wants to help her because she’s his son Billy’s girl… but it’s very obvious that there are always “strings attached” to his favors.  Though she enjoys her job as a dancer at an exclusive night club and appreciates the apartment in which he’s letting her stay, Kit is disappointed that she is not making it on her own as she originally planned when she left Providence and set out for NYC.  And while she despises Nate’s assumption that she should be available and willing to run errands any time he calls, she has no idea how to extricate herself from the situation.

Happy Teen Read Week!

Leave a Reply

