Four: A Divergent Collection by Veronica Roth

fourI find it kinda funny that I was *so* sure I would love the Divergent series that I waited for the third book to be released and then read the books back-to-back-to-back.  And after that, I *had* to read this collection of short stories as soon as it came out… Yet I still haven’t seen the Divergent movie, and I even forgot about actually posting a review for this book for three months!  I guess life just gets away from me sometimes, and taking a trip to the movies with a girlfriend isn’t always at the top of my list of priorities. Still, I should probably plan a girls’ night in to watch Divergent pretty soon, right?  😉

This book reminds me of when I got really excited, back in the day, when Stephanie Meyer announced she was going to write a Twilight companion novel from Edward’s perspective. I thought it would have been awesome to find out was really going through his mind as opposed to what Bella had assumed he was thinking. Unfortunately, some idiots on the internet leaked a supposed manuscript and Meyer got so upset that she decided not to go forward with the project after all.  Though the Divergent series is extremely different from Twilight, this book of short stories appears to have finally satiated my lingering need to see a YA book re-imagined from another character’s perspective. In these stories, we not only get more background information about Four’s “previous life” as Tobias Eaton and his initiation into Dauntless, but we also get to relive some of the more memorable scenes from Tris’ initiation through Four. I fear it may be too much to hope for any further re-tellings from this franchise, but a girl can dream, right?!?

Happy Teen Read Week!

Leave a Reply

