Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac by Gabrielle Zevin

memoirsI remember seeing this cover, reading the title, and thinking, “That looks interesting!”  I was especially curious about the story behind the old fashioned typewriter keys on the cover.  Yet, somehow, SEVEN years went by before I actually took the time to listen to it.  How in the world did *that* happen?!?  (Especially considering the fact that I listened to, and thoroughly enjoyed, her book Elsewhere!)  I guess this is a case of “better late than never,” right?  I’ve always been curious about what it would be like to have amnesia and, though this wasn’t a true story, it helped me to realize just how grateful I am for my fully intact memories.  It’s terrifying to consider the sudden loss of years worth of my life and to even forget the people I love. 

Imagine waking up in an ambulance and not knowing how you got there or who you are with — especially after hearing him tell the EMTs that he’s your boyfriend.  Naomi “lost” about 4 years after her head injury and was forced to re-learn a lot of facts about her life, many of which were distressing.  Being a teenager is hard enough, and Naomi had to to try to piece together several years worth of memories and re-discover who she was while simultaneously trying to move forward with her life.  I can’t imagine trying to navigate the social structure of a high school without any memories/background information about my so-called friends and boyfriend.  Definitely not an enviable position!  And although I was sometimes frustrated with the way Naomi handled things, I appreciated her flaws because they made her feel more real.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

