Kill Me Softly by Sarah Cross

Kill Me SoftlyOK everybody… I am geeking out BIG TIME over here because Emma Watson will be playing Belle in Disney’s new [live action] Beauty & the Beast movie!  So, since I am obsessing over *that* fairy tale remake, I thought it only made sense to do a book review for *another* fairy tale remake I recently enjoyed.  As I’ve admitted before, I’m a reader who often chooses to read/listen to a book based on my gut reaction to its cover.  I read tons of book reviews as I make purchasing decisions, so I often forget what most of the books are about before they arrive.  Even though I must have read a review for this book (since I decided to purchase it), nevertheless, I didn’t remember a thing about it.  I honestly thought it was going to be a murder mystery or an action thriller when I saw in on the shelf a few months ago.  Since I was nearing the end of my audiobook and I saw that the downloadable audiobook for this title was available via OverDrive, I decided to just go for it…  Color me surprised when I started listening and realized it was more like Beastly than Dark Song

Mirabelle didn’t know much about her past.  All she really knew about Beau Rivage [her birthplace], for example, was that her godmothers wanted to keep her away from there ever since her parents’ tragic death.  Mira also thought it was odd that her godmothers forbade her to use many common objects, like scissors, but figured they were probably just being overprotective.  A week before her 16th birthday, though, her curiosity got the best of her and she decided she HAD to go to Beau Rivage.  She planned to visit her parents’ graves while she was there, hoping for a little closure, but didn’t necessarily have any other plans to speak of.  Imagine her shock when she made the acquaintance of some local teens who let her in on the secret that fairy tales are real and that the strange mark on her back meant that she had been cursed!  Albeit a little predictable, this was a fun story that might even inspire readers to take another look at traditional fairy tales.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

