Liar by Justine Larbalestier

liarI finally read this book because of Justine Larbalestier’s new book Razorhurst, which just came out in the beginning of March.  While talking to a friend about the interesting concept of Razorhurst, she asked if I had read Liar.  I admitted that I hadn’t and decided I should read the older book before moving on to the new book.  The only problem is that I’m not entirely sure how I feel about this story.  There was just something about this book that rubbed me the wrong way.  I mean…

S
P
O
I
L
E
R

W
A
R
N
I
N
G

SERIOUSLY!

LOOK AWAY NOW IF YOU DON’T LIKE SPOILERS!

I know it’s called Liar and all, but I absolutely hated the fact that the narrator constantly lied to even the readers and never fully came clean!  I’m used to books in which readers are duped and then the truth is revealed.  All sorts of stories have twist endings, and I often enjoy the twist.  But, to have “truth” after “truth” revealed to have been further lies?  And to get to the end still not knowing what actually happened?!?  It’s enough to drive a girl crazy!  If you like reading books with uncertain endings and think you would enjoy a mystery that will remain a mystery long after the last word, you could very well end up enjoying this story.  For me, though, I guess I enjoy being an omniscient reader too much to fully appreciate this book.

Happy Reading!

One response to “Liar by Justine Larbalestier

  1. Pingback: My Sister Rosa by Justine Larbalestier | Librarina

Leave a Reply

