Nerve by Jeanne Ryan

nerveWhen I read Need, I couldn’t get over the sneaking suspicion that many of today’s teens would probably be all too tempted to complete random tasks to win prizes without considering the implications of their actions.  The fact that the tasks were done anonymously seemed like a perfect way to convince people to participate…  But, then I read this book.  And it made me wonder if the quest for fame might be a better way to snag this generation.  With reality TV being as popular as it is, and with  many teens already sharing nearly everything they do on various social media platforms, this book struck me as entirely too plausible.  My only complaint?  I wish I hadn’t started this book when I was so tired.  It nearly killed me to put it down and to wait to finish it the next day!

Just imagine a majorly popular reality TV show that accepts “audition” videos from anyone who wants to seek both fame and fortune for completing dares of increasing difficulty.  Viewers all assume that the show is being televised, so things must be on the up-and-up.  I mean, they couldn’t possibly get away with running a reality TV show that really puts people in harms way…  Could they?  Vee sends in her audition on a whim, basically to prove to herself that she can.  And, when her audition garners enough attention that she is offered a space in the competition, she decides to try it out.  She figures she will just compete for a little while and get some cool prizes before quitting.  But, then she gets swept up in the momentum of the competition.  Before she knows it, she is in over her head and she isn’t sure whether there even IS a way to get out while she’s ahead.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

