Binge by Tyler Oakley

20160711_111516It’s funny how life can be so very different and feel so much the same… Last year, I was losing my mind because I was shuffling both kids of to summer camp in the morning so I could work full time doing summer reading stuff at my library.  I had days stuffed to the gills with programs, reference, and other responsibilities, and I had precious little time with my kids.  I did my best to do fun stuff while also keeping up with house work, but it was hard, y’all!  This summer, I’m losing my mind because I’m balancing my WAHM (work at home mom) responsibilities with finding fun and inexpensive ways to entertain the kids so they don’t kill each other.  (Right now, we’re actually at our local public library for LEGO Club and I’m posting from my phone… I hope this works!)  Though I have plenty of time to keep up on chores if I want to let my kids become screentime zombies, that’s not exactly my plan.  So, I’m losing my mind all over again… But in a better way.  I keep reminding myself that it’s OK to feel stressed or overwhelmed sometimes as long as I’m, overall, doing what feels right for me and my family.  Sure, I forgot to post a book review last week — but my kids and I had an awesome week of spending time with friends and family.

I am not exaggerating when I tell you that I picked this book up at the *perfect* time.  Not only did I want a fun read, but I wanted something with short chapters that I could pick up and read for a few minutes at a time if that was all I could get (which has been the case more often than not lately).  On a previous trip to our public library [so my kids could sign up to actually *attend* summer reading events this year!] I saw this book on display.  Not only did this book meet my “fun & easy” qualifications, but it SPOKE TO ME right in the introduction — “Binge on the things that bring you fulfillment and happiness and satisfaction and make you feel alive.  Binge on people who fascinate you and love that wakes you up from the monotony…  Binge on giving, in all senses.  Binge on indulging.”   Yaaaaaaaas!  

I first heard of Tyler Oakley about eight years ago when one of my library teens asked if I had seen “the Tyler Oakley video about why gay marriage is wrong.”  I was confused because this teen belonged to the GSA at her high school, and I didn’t realize the video was sarcastic.  After watching the video, though, I shared the hell out of it.  While I have seen many of his videos through the years, I’m pretty sure this will always be my favorite.

If you need inspiration to start living your life openly, honestly, and unapologetically for yourself, this book is a good place to start.  Sometimes heartbreaking, but more often than not hilarious, this book gives readers a bird’s eye view of the many “binges” that have led Tyler Oakley to YouTube fame and general pop-culture notoriety, but also, more importantly, to a life he’s happy to be living.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

