this world we live in by Susan Beth Pfeffer [ARC]

I have been a fan of the Moon Crash Trilogy since before it was even called the Moon Crash Trilogy…  Since before it was approved to become a trilogy, even!  I have been following Susan Beth Pfeffer’s blog — http://susanbethpfeffer.blogspot.com — for a couple of years now, and I have been anxiously following the development of this world we live in since she first mentioned approaching her editor with the idea for a follow-up story.  I have done my best to stay away from the spoilers on the blog, and I have waited as patiently as possible, but the wait is finally over!  I received my ARC on Monday, and I finished it last night…  Let me just say, “Whoa!”  Even though the other two books have some freaky disasters and frightening situations, this book definitely takes the cake.  I will do my best to give you a decent idea of the story without giving away too much of the plot…  And, if you know me, I may even lend you the ARC so you can see for yourself before the March 31, 2010, release!

It’s been almost a year since the fateful day when the moon was hit by a meteor.  Modern day conveniences, like electricity and running water, still haven’t been fully restored.  No one knows if they ever will.  Miranda, her mother, and her brothers (Jon and Matt) are doing the best they can to survive on the meager supplies of canned foods they get from Town Hall every week.  They’re fortunate that they have a wood stove to keep them from freezing to death, since the shift in climate meant that winter started in about August and still hasn’t let up — even though it would normally be spring by now.  They’re especially lucky to have each other, since so many people have died from cold, sickness, and starvation already.  Jon and Matt do the majority of the wood chopping, and Miranda helps her mom with upkeep tasks like cooking and cleaning.  With occasional trips to forage for supplies in abandoned houses, they are getting by… but barely.

Jon and Matt decide to go on a fishing trip to bolster their food supplies, and return with a bit more than just fish.  Matt met a girl (Syl) during this 3 day trip, and the two have already “exchanged vows,” thus considering themselves married.  Adding this extra person to the family creates a whole lot of tension, since food supplies are already scarce, but Matt insists that he loves Syl and she is not going anywhere.  It seems, however, that adding Syl to the equation is practically nothing compared to when their father (Hal) returns with his new wife (Lisa), their baby (Gabriel), and three of their traveling companions (Charlie, Alex, and Julie).  With six more mouths to feed, everyone starts to worry that the food will run out in no time.  Will they be able to find enough food in abandoned houses?  Or will they find a way to get more food from the town?  Will they have to leave Howell in search of a better-functioning city after all?

People who read the first two books will be glad to learn a lot more about what happened to characters from both Life As We Knew It and the dead & the gone…  And people who haven’t read the first two books should go back and start reading them NOW!  Seriously…  Don’t start this book until you’ve read the first two!  You’ll thank me later.

Happy Reading!

10 responses to “this world we live in by Susan Beth Pfeffer [ARC]

  1. I found your blog through Susan Beth Pfeffer’s, and your review made me even more excited to read this book! Just wanted to say that I really like your site!

  2. Oh, I loved Life as We knew it, and am glad to hear the characters are still alive after one year. I had huge doubts …

  3. Thanks, Lauren! And, Catherine, I was soooo glad too!

  4. This looks really good, post some spoilers maybe?
    I can’t wait to read 😀

  5. Sorry, but I’ve had a strict “no spoilers” stance ever since someone ruined HP6 for me!

  6. I’ve bee following Susan Beth Pfeffer’s blog too! I can’t wait to read it I have heard its great from everyone who has an ARC of it.

  7. I just finished an e-galley of This World We Live In from Net Galley. Whew. The last 100 pages was quite a ride. Do we know for sure if this is the final book in the series? It seems to me that there is still more story to tell.

  8. Chrissie! I can’t wait to read the second one and now the third! I listened to the first one on audio book and did a video book trailer on it. I attached the link so you can see it. Got to love library school and YA class!
    Your former teen,
    Eileen

  9. Pingback: NEW BOOKS by Susan Beth Pfeffer!!! | Librarina: Great books for Tweens & Teens

  10. Pingback: Shade of the Moon [ARC] by Susan Beth Pfeffer | Librarina

Leave a comment