Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception by Eoin Colfer

This is the fourth, and most recent, in the Artemis Fowl series by Eoin Colfer. Since I have not mentioned any of the other Artemis Fowl books, let me just take a moment to say that they are UNBELIEVABLY AWESOME!!! OK. Now that that is out of my system… A lot of people compare the Artemis Fowl books to the Harry Potter series. I would have to disagree. Other than the fact that they are both teenage boys in a magical world, they have pretty much nothing in common. Harry is looking to figure out who he is. Artemis is trying to make himself known to the world, in an “I’m going to take you over someday” kind of way. If you were looking for a character in the Harry Potter world to whom you could compare Artemis, though, I would have to say that he is very Draco Malfoy.

In this latest installment, Artemis does show a little more compassion for others — and even a desire to be “good.” Is it because of the fairies he has encountered in the past? Is he honestly becoming a better human being? Will Opal Koboi succeed in killing Artemis before he has the chance to do something good? If you want a good read about a rich kid, his body guard, and how they have to work to keep the fairy and human worlds from colliding (again!), you will LOVE Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception!

P.S. If you think you are good enough to crack Foaly’s secret code, go ahead and post your translation as a comment. I would love to know how many LEP Recruits read my blog!

Happy Reading!

Leave a comment